Three Reads, New Manuscript + Other Things

Uncategorized

Just a quick update:

 

I participated in Jamie Grefe’s new blog series ‘Three Reads’ where each author recommends three books from their recent reading list. I cannot recommend my three books enough, so I strongly suggest, if you haven’t seen it already, that you go over there and check it out: Three Reads w/ S.T. Cartledge

And while you’re at it, have a look at what other authors are reading/recommending.

 

I’d also like to share the news that my next manuscript is finished.

The first draft of House Hunter was around 15,000 words and took two weeks to write. After rewrites and editing, it came in at around 25,000 words.

Day of the Milkman was around 30,000 words and took just under 6 weeks to write.

The Orphanarium clocks in at around 42,000 words, and I’ve been working on it, planning, note taking, writing, taking breaks, revising, for a little over two years. And it’s totally going to be worth it.

Orphanarium Manuscript

Now comes the emptiness of not knowing exactly what to do next. But the good thing is that I have a lot of options. In less than three weeks I’ll find out if my poetry chapbook is a finalist in the Black River Chapbook Competition. If it is, I’ll be thrilled. If it isn’t, I’ll have to find a home for it elsewhere, in which case I’ve got some great friends who I’d be very excited to share this project with and perhaps aim at building a larger network of poets and audience for poetry which takes you to other places.

Having said that, one of the things I’d love to work on now that the Orphanarium is done, is to hit the poetry hard and build up a larger repertoire to hopefully put into print some time over the coming years.

And I’ve got a vampire novel lined up which I’ve been planning/formulating in my head for quite a while now, and I’m just waiting for the prose to hit me so that it can take off.

I’m also trying to figure out a short sci-fi story for a magazine, but short stories aren’t quite my forte, so I’m hoping it will fall into place soon. Otherwise I’ll just let the ideas flow and start brainstorming a whole array of new projects to keep busy with.

And when I’m not writing, I’ll be procrastinating with books and anime. I’ve recently picked up the Claymore manga again, and the monster designs never cease to amaze/inspire me. I’ve recently finished reading Kirk Jones’ Journey to Abortosphere which was an outstanding read which was very well done. I’ve also read one of his other manuscripts, which I can’t really say anything about for obvious reasons, but I’ll say this: Keep him on your radar. He’s got some fascinating stories in him and we’re only just now seeing the tip of the iceberg. Really.

Other reads include Jason Wayne Allen’s Rotgut County Blues, from Dynatox Ministries, and Grant Wamack’s A Lightbulb’s Lament, which I’m about 3/4 through at the moment.

Anime update:

I’m over half way into Knights of Sidonia, and it is phenomenal. I love everything about it. For an anime adapted from a Tsutomu Nihei manga, I couldn’t ask for anything more.

I’ve seen the first two episodes of Terror in Resonance. Shinichiro Watanabe has left behind his Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo days. This is what it’s all about. School kids and terrorist plots. And if the drama comes even remotely close to the level of Kids on the Slope, I’ll probably die. I’m sold.

2 thoughts on “Three Reads, New Manuscript + Other Things

  1. YAY! You sound like you’re gonna be busy this year! I look forward to your new releases! Not much makes me more excited than seeing a finished manuscript all ready to go like that (except when I get a copy for a proof in my own hand 😉 ) Good luck with the chapbook submission, and keep up the good work! Oh yeah, and a vampire book? SQUEEE! Sooo excited for that! ❤

    1. Thanks! Here’s a bit of an update on what’s happened since: The manuscript is going to be published, it’s just a matter of when (waiting on edits at the moment). The vampire book has gone through several stages of planning and rewriting the opening chapter until I set it aside for other stories and ideas to move forward. I’m still very keen on making it a thing and bringing it out to the world, but at the moment I don’t know when. I’m working on something else at the moment that I’m really happy with so far, but I’m taking my time with that one too because I really want my next few books to be really memorable.

      The chapbook submission was a bust, but I’ve taken that material and added it with two more high concept narrative poems which form a collection/trilogy which I’m currently shopping around. Fingers crossed I can get that published this year. If not, you can at least count on getting your hands on some of it.

      My last couple of poetry projects have been unsuccessful, and I remain hopeful that I’ll turn them into something great over time, but I’m plotting out a new narrative poem at the moment and I’ve got the feeling it’ll be like the first three that came together for me.

      This post was from quite a while ago, and it kind of feels like I haven’t done much since then (at least publication-wise), but I think there’s enough going on behind-the-scenes that’s worth the time and effort. I can’t wait to have some results to show you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

