You’ll never guess what books these readers also bought!?!

Uncategorized

Or maybe you will.

Amazon has started to show me a list of books people have been buying alongside Day of the Milkman, and I just thought I’d highlight some of my favourites and include a few comments.

For paperback:

The Cheat Code for God Mode by Andy De Fonseca
She is part of the 2013/14 New Bizarro Author Series. I assume some people buy my new book because of an ongoing interest in authors who go through the NBAS. Last year was my year, and it’s great to see that people are investing in NBAS authors both old and new. Andy wrote a fantastic book, and already I can tell that her year will be far more successful than mine.

Quicksand House by Carlton Mellick III
This guy is a major influence. He is the reason I started writing bizarro. And this book. This. Book. There are no words to express how beautiful it is. I encourage everyone to read it. It is magical.

Space Walrus by Kevin L. Donihe
Kevin is a spectacularly funny and sharp writer. Space Walrus is a captivating read, a stellar work of bizarre fiction. He writes with such clarity, this absurd story seems so goddamn real.

You Are Sloth! by Steve Lowe
Another former NBAS author. Muscle Memory was one of the first NBAS books I read, and since then he’s gone from strength to strength, having a lot of success bringing his writing career to life. This is his first full Eraserhead release, and it’s just crazy comical and hilariously disturbing.

Rontel by Sam Pink
I haven’t read this book, but Sam Pink is so damn good. I’ve got a few of his others (including the Collected Suicide Notes, a giant hardcover monster). He writes about people so well. They seem so strange, yet so real, you wonder how much of what he writes is fiction.

For kindle:

Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu
I don’t know much about this book, but everything I hear about it is fantastic. I think I’ll have to check this one out soon. Peter seems to be making the right impressions with the right people.

Toxicity by Max Booth III
I’ve got this on my kindle, but I haven’t read it yet. I’ve read a little, and what I read was pretty solid. I’ve also heard great things about this one.

The Rotgut County Blues by Jason Wayne Allen
This is a Dynatox Ministries book. Dynatox mainly does limited edition chapbooks. I’ve got a print version of this one. It’s great to see some Dynatox titles becoming more readily available, and also that people seem to be buying and reading them.

Journey to Abortosphere by Kirk Jones
Another NBAS author. This is his second book, same as me. We’re both going through similar things in our careers right now, so I really resonate with the guy. I’m currently reading this book right now, and about half-way in, it’s crazy awesome. Loving it.

The Least of My Scars by Stephen Graham Jones

This is one of the debut releases from independent crime publisher, Broken River Books. Broken River is a publisher where all their books look unputdownable. And Stephen Graham Jones is a prolific author whose work is so insanely widespread and universally acclaimed. I’ve read bits and pieces of his work, which reveal glimpses of his genius. Those who read him, love him.

Low Down Death Right Easy by J. David Osborne

This is the guy who owns Broken River. And all of his books look magnificent. I’ve had a struggle over the past couple of years, having a couple of his books on my shelf and made no time to read them yet. As with everything else on this list I haven’t yet read, I know I’d love this.

Pretty much what it comes down to is that people are buying lots of awesome weird books and Amazon has put together an algorithm to recommend lots of other awesome weird books. I’m glad to be part of that eclectic mix with such awesome books and people.

Leave a Reply

