Taxidermy beetles and art blogs and the point-and-click adventure

Uncategorized

I’ve been thinking a lot about perspective and subjectivity lately. I’ve also been browsing around the internet a lot lately too. And yielding some pretty interesting results. Some things I’ve found have been through communicating with people through social media, and some things have come up through my good friend Google. With a little assistance from Youtube and Wikipedia.

As with my previous post, some things were found by browsing for things I’m writing about. Like these taxidermy beetles:

I think there was something else in there, I think I was googling images of wasp-faces, and then I came across this wicked awesome art blog, Creep Machine. I love art. Especially if it’s weird and/or surreal. As someone who is not overly artistic – I’ll attempt creating a piece of art every now and then, but never anything high quality – I love checking out art by insanely talented people. This blog showcases a lot of awesome art. I’ve found that I haven’t really concerned myself too much with reading the blogs as I have with just looking at the pretty pictures.

Is this not amazing?

Then, James Steele tipped me off about a game developer called Amanita Design. They do point-and-click adventure games. I love point-and-click adventure games. I grew up playing Sam & Max and Day of the Tentacle. Most of the games I play nowdays are independent web games, predominantly puzzle platformers and point-and-click adventures. For the Sam & Max and DOTT fans, I’d recommend The Ballads of Reemus. It’s weird and fun and entertaining, and the puzzles are good. I would also say the same for Amanita games, but for different reasons. They’re a Czech company, and the games I’ve started have a bit of a foreign art film feel about them. Very stylish, very abstract, very clever use of the visual medium with little to no dialogue. James has been playing Botanicula. I started it, but I was more immediately drawn to Machinarium. It reminds me a little of that movie, Wall-E, and that other movie, Robots. And an independent animation series I watched ages ago, called My GOD, Robots! I loved that series. Machinarium is like those, but with a much more vibrantly artistic world. It is beautiful. One of the things I loved about Sam & Max and DOTT were the elaborate set designs. This continues on that aspect of the point-and-click adventure, while carving out a clever visual narrative, and removing the frustration that comes with playing these types of games and reaching a point that could potentially bog you down for months. It’s probably the best point-and-click game in recent years.

Holy shit I love the art style so much. It’s so crisp, and so vibrant. The art reminds me of Shaun Tan’s picture book, The Lost Thing, with maybe a hint of Howl’s Moving Castle (the castle itself). It really pops. I played the game and loved everything about it. Science fiction at its imaginitive best. And the music is brilliant.

I love the internet and its potential for inspiration and discovery.

One thought on “Taxidermy beetles and art blogs and the point-and-click adventure

Leave a Reply

