Free ebook for you!

Uncategorized

Ok, here’s the deal. I love it when people read my stories. I’m a writer, that’s how I am. I love it when my friends read my stories and I love it when strangers read my stories. If everything goes to plan, I’ll have my first novella in print  by 2012. And while I’m working on that, I’ll also be working on a number of other stories and determining how ‘sellable’ they are, if I could get them published too.

I’ve had one story brewing for most of the year now, and I’m thinking I’d like to turn it into a novel. It’s a space western. I know what you’re thinking, you’re thinking “woah, space westerns are pretty awesome”, you’re thinking it must be something like Star Wars or Cowboy Bebop or Firefly or something. Well, yes and no. I’d say it’s more like Trigun or Doom Magnetic. Anyway, I’ve developed it into a novelette for a university project, and at the moment it’s just the bare bones of the story. A real mixed bag of characters battling it out in the deserts of Mars. Eventually, there’ll be a bit of space travel action, and I wouldn’t rule out a steampunk/cyberpunk-esque side story.

But what you get here is a 7,500 word novelette, and yes, it’s part of a larger narrative, but it is a fully functioning narrative arc as it is. And it can be yours for free! You just need to click on the link.

Once Upon A Time On Mars – Part One

If you do decide to check it out, I’d love to know what you think of it, or even if you just let me know that you read it/downloaded it. I decided I would give it away for free because there are a lot of people that might like my writing, but won’t know unless they’ve got something to read, and I don’t want people to have to pay for my stuff before they know who I am or what my writing is like. It’s also a thank you to the friends who have supported me through my past few years trying to become a professional author. And if you read it and enjoy it, there’s a good chance I’ll be more inclined to finish the story. I’m considering the possibility of serialising it and releasing it as a series of novelettes. Maybe.

If you do read it, and you like it, thank you so much. If you want to share it, that would be amazing. If you want to keep up to date with my work on this project, I’m posting my updates here.

And you can take pride in the fact that simply by downloading and reading this FREE EBOOK you will be supporting this guy:

And on a related note, next month I will be doing “NaNoWriMovember”, which is a portmanteau of “NaNoWriMo” and “Movember”, where NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month (50,000 words in 30 days) and Movember is growing a mustache in November to raise money for prostate cancer. I’ll probably grow a shit mustache, but the writing should be good. This year I won’t be writing one novel. Instead, I’ll be working on a 15-20,000 word novella (the one for publication next year), as well as a bunch of other short stories that may one day end up turning into novellas or novels. One is a time-travelling thriller where the main character experiences a traumatic experience in his childhood, grows up obsessing about it, then goes back in time to learn more about it only to discover his adult self was the cause of it all. Another is a buddy-movie-type nuclear apocalypse story where two best friends are the only survivors of the apocalypse, and they quickly discover they have nothing in common. And I’ll more likely than not start working on Once Upon A Time On Mars Part Two. So those are just a few things to look forward to should you choose to support me as a writer.

4 thoughts on “Free ebook for you!

Leave a Reply

