So, here’s the business…

Uncategorized

I created this blog as part of my writing and new technologies unit for my creative writing degree. I haven’t posted anything in a little while because it was being assessed and I couldn’t add/change anything until I got my marks back. And now that I have, I can get back into it. I’ve still got my blogger site up, but now that I can add stuff to the manifold again, I can leave my old writing blog alone. There’s a good chance I’ll transfer across some book reviews and such, but otherwise, I’ve turned over a new page (excuse the literary pun).

So, what can you expect from me in the near future?

Well, I’ve still got my final assignment for my writing and new technologies class, which is a choose-your-own-adventure blog. I’ve got a couple of weeks to wrap it up, and I’m hoping to have the site up some time next week to work out any issues before I have to hand it in.

What's behind Door 5?

I’m currently reading the Brothers Crunk by William Pauley III, which is $0.99 on the Kindle at the moment. I’ve also ordered a bunch of books to keep me busy over the summer break. Akira vol 2 and 3, by Katsuhiro Otomo; Richard Yates, by Tao Lin; Kraken, by China Mieville; Hunting the Moon Tribe, by David Agranoff; and Love in the Time of Dinosaurs, by Kirsten Alene.

Now, I might as well mention here that the 2010 New Bizarro Author Series has a competition going on for the month of May, where purchasing Love in the Time of Dinosaurs, Felix and the Sacred Thor, or How to Eat Fried Furries can win you signed copies of the set (minus the book you bought), which is six free signed books. All the details can be found here. And I must say, it’s a great incentive to buy their books. I’ve read five of the seven titles (all except ‘Dinosaurs’ and ‘Furries’) and they’re all great reads. Entertaining, well written, clever, and affordable, if somewhat slim. I believe Muscle Memory, by Steve Lowe; and the Egg Said Nothing, by Caris O’Malley are also available at the moment at $0.99 for the Kindle. But if you want the books in print edition, you’ll get that warm, fuzzy feeling that you’re making a direct contribution towards the future of those writers. Basically, the more books they sell, the more likely they are to end up with a book contract with Eraserhead Press at the end of the year. I’ve had the fortune of being able to communicate with a few of the NBAS authors online, and they’re great people with great ideas who really deserve your support. I should probably put out a fair warning that some of the content in these books may offend/disturb/traumatise.

How can you not love this shit?

So, that’s what I’m reading and what I’m writing. Another juicy piece of news worth mentioning here is that the new Bizarro Central website is getting ready to get right down to business. And I’ll be contributing to the site once a month with reviews and links and discussions and I’ve sent in my first discussion piece on my favourite bizarro villain. I must say, I’m keen on getting to know the bizarro community better over the coming months, and, of course, continuing to develop my writing and getting it read and hopefully, eventually published.

Leave a Reply

